I Can Not Believe It!!

Okay, so everyone who knows me, knows I can not follow instructions when I knit or crochet…you know who you are…don’t laugh. I tried to make mittens following instructions and they turned out fine! Surprise to me. Yeah, so what that they have gaping holes and won’t keep you warm, I did follow the instructions completely. Used the right yarn and even the right needles…which probably was the reason they were so “holey.” It was a chunky yarn. But the point is, they came out right!

So, buoyed by the fact that the mittens were good…and much encouraging from my fellow KnitWits, I decided to try another pair of mittens using smaller needles and a less bulky yarn. Lo and behold, they came out fine…snug and warm with no holes! I was amazed that I could follow the instructions and even make something that looked like the picture.

So, still basking in the afterglow of success, I decided to make another pair. Hey, the third time is a charm. Once again, I got the right yarn, Homespun, the right needles, size 6 and began. Now, let us back up here a bit. When I made the mittens, I made the two mittens at the same time on the one set of needles. This way, I have them the same size…remember, I am a novice at instructions following. Anyway, I had two matching skeins of Homespun…or so I thought. Yes, I did check the lot numbers and all that information…that much of a novice I am not. I started the two mittens, side by side on the needles. It was going well till I noticed the colors seemed off. One mitten was “blueish” and the other was “brownish/red”. I was just finishing the cuffs when I paused and looked. To my horror, they weren’t the same color. They were variable yarn but they weren’t matching at all!

Next, I dug in my yarn stash and found another skein, same color, same dye lot and all the same numbers. I quickly started a third mitten with this yarn after carefully looking at it and matching it with the already done cuffs.

Bottom line, it doesn’t match either!! So now I have three mittens started, cuffs done, and not one of them matches!

Moral of the story, reading instructions doesn’t work!

This entry was posted in Notes From Grammy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment